How to delete or deactivate your Instagram account

How to delete or deactivate your Instagram account

Instagram is one of the most popular image and video sharing platforms in the world. It is also one of the most downloaded apps globally. And, it is the working place of numerous content creators who share reels, videos, live videos, and photos there. However, there are times when you have had enough of a good thing and want to take a break. Of lately, all this buzz on social media and particularly on Instagram has led to mental health issues among a lot of creators who depend on increasing the number of likes and views on their photos and videos for their living or just for kicks. To take the pressure off, the company recently started testing a new feature that will enable users to hide their likes and views counts. This feature, when released, is expected to ease things for creators a bit. However, until that happens, users can temporarily deactivate their Instagram accounts to get away from the platform.

Here’s how to deactivate your Instagram account:

Step 1: Log into instagram.com from a computer.

Step 2: Click your profile picture in the top right and click Profile, then click Edit Profile.

Step 3: Now Scroll down, then click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.

Step 4: Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account?

Step 5: Next, re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.

Step 6: Click Temporarily Disable Account.

How to delete your Instagram account:

If deactivating your Instagram account isn’t enough for you and if you want to get off the platform completely, here’s an easy guide for you:

Step 1: Go to the Delete Your Account page from a mobile browser or computer.

Step 2: Select an option from the dropdown menu next to Why are you deleting your account?

Step 3: Re-enter your password.

Step 4: Click or tap Delete [username].

Instagram says that it will delete your Instagram account and information after 30 days of your account deletion request, after which you will not be able to retrieve your information. “It may take up to 90 days to complete the deletion process after it begins. Copies of your content may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event,” Instagram wrote in its support page.

Source:-hindustantimes

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *