Adelaide to host opening Test of India tour from December 6

Adelaide to host opening Test of India tour from December 6

A four-Test blockbuster series between Australia and India headlines the Australian 2018-19 international schedule but it is unlikely that the pink-ball Adelaide Oval Test will ensue.

The Border-Gavaskar series will begin in Adelaide on December 6 but is not likely to be another pink-ball spectacle, which has been the showpiece of the past three Australian summers. Australia have won all four of their pink ball Tests, while India have never played in one although there is speculation they might host a Day-Night Test against the Windies in October.

Cricket Australia hold on to hope over the Adelaide Test’s status, which had stalled the release of the Australian summer schedule. “It is our preference that we play India in a Day-Night Test match in Adelaide, but we are still working through this detail and hope to have an answer on this in the coming weeks,” James Sutherland, Cricket Australia chief executive, said on Monday (April 30).

The series will then venture west in Perth Stadium’s historical inaugural Test match on December 14 before the traditional Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests in Melbourne and Sydney respectively.

“The Border-Gavaskar Trophy promises to be a bumper series, and it will be headlined by the world famous Boxing Day Test at the MCG,” Sutherland said. “There, we will also deliver a large-scale community festival in partnership with the Victorian Government, which will be a terrific celebration of Indian culture.”

Cricbuzz understands that launching the Test summer at the new Perth Stadium – which holds a capacity of 60,000 seats – was bandied around but eventually Adelaide, which has become arguably the most popular Test fixture in the Australian summer, won out. However, the men’s international summer will start at Perth Stadium with an ODI between Australia and South Africa on November 4.

India’s two-month tour opens with three Twenty20s starting on November 21 at the Gabba followed by matches at the MCG and SCG. After the Test series, India will remain in Australia for three ODIs at the SCG, Adelaide Oval and MCG.

India tour of Australia 2018-19

Date Match Venue
November 21 1st T20I Gabba, Brisbane
November 23 2nd T20I MCG, Melbourne
November 25 3rd T20I SCG, Sydney
December 6-10 1st Test Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
December 14-18 2nd Test Perth Stadium, Perth
December 26-30 3rd Test MCG, Melbourne
January 3-7 4th Test SCG, Sydney
January 12 1st ODI SCG, Sydney
January 15 2nd ODI Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
January 18 3rd ODI MCG, Melbourne
There will definitely be at least one day-night Test with Australia and Sri Lanka confirmed to play a pink ball match at the Gabba on January 24 to kick-off the two-Test series. The Gabba previously hosted a day-night Test between Australia and Pakistan in December 2016 before reverting to a day affair for the Ashes last summer.

The Gabba Test will be played during the Australia Day national holiday (January 26), which has in recent years been earmarked as an ODI in Adelaide. The second Test will be played at Manuka Oval starting on February 1 in a historic inaugural Test for Australia’s capital Canberra. It will be the first time men’s Test cricket is played in Australia in February since 1998.

Australia’s men’s summer starts with a three-match ODI series against South Africa followed by a Twenty 20 at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast – another venue getting its first taste of international cricket.

“Cricket continues to look beyond its traditional boundaries by taking our game to new and exciting venues and locations,” Sutherland said. “We welcome the chance to showcase international cricket on the Gold Coast and Canberra this summer and to provide even more fans with the opportunity to experience these matches in person.”

Southern Stars and build up to World T20

Australia’s women’s team opens the international summer with a three-match T20 series against New Zealand starting on September 29 in an important lead-up to the World T20 in the Caribbean in November.

The Southern Stars will bookend the summer with three ODIs against New Zealand starting on February 22 at the WACA – the only international fixture at Perth’s iconic ground.

“This season also promises to be a big summer for our Australia women’s team, which will open the international summer ahead of its ICC Women’s World Twenty20 campaign in the West Indies in November,” Sutherland said. “They are currently ranked number one in the world and will be looking to defend this title over the summer against New Zealand.”

Domestic fixtures, including the expanded Big Bash League, are expected to be announced mid-year.

South Africa tour of Australia 2018

Date Match Venue
November 4 1st ODI Perth Stadium, Perth
November 9 2nd ODI Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
November 11 3rd ODI Bellerive Oval, Hobart
November 17 Only T20I Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast
Sri Lanka tour of Australia 2019

Date Match Venue
January 24-28 1st Test (D/N) Gabba, Brisbane
February 1-5 2nd Test Manuka Oval, Canberra


Source by cricbuzz…